Where is the sacral plexus located?

These are parasympathetic fibers that supply the hindgut and the pelvic viscera. The sacral plexus lies in the back of the pelvis between the piriformis muscle and the pelvis fascia. In front of it are the internal iliac artery, internal iliac vein, the ureter, and the rectum.

What muscles does the sacral plexus innervate?

Nerve to levator ani and ischiococcygeus muscles The last two branches of the sacral plexus are the nerve to levator ani and ischiococcygeus muscle. It provides motor innervation to the pelvic part of the muscles for which they are named.

Which nerves arise from the sacral plexus?

The sacral plexus provides motor and sensory innervation through the following nerves:

  • Sciatic Nerve (L4 – S3)
  • Pudendal Nerve (ventral divisions of S2 – S4)
  • Superior Gluteal Nerve (dorsal divisions of L4 – S1)
  • Inferior Gluteal Nerve (dorsal divisions of L5 – S2)
  • Nerve to Obturator Internus (ventral divisions of L5 – S2)

What does the sacral plexus control?

Nerves that serve the same part of the body merge into one large nerve or group of nerves via a plexus. The sacral plexus provides motor and sensory nerves for the pelvis, buttocks, genitals, thighs, calves, and feet. It is one of the five major plexuses of the body. It rests on the piriformis muscle, in the hip area.

What do the sacral nerves affect?

Types of Sacral Spine Injury S1 nerves affect the hips and the groin area. S2 nerves affect the backs of the thighs. S3 nerves affect the medial buttock area. S4 nerves affect the perineal area.

What are the two main branches of the sacral plexus?

Nerves formed

Nerve Segment Cutaneous branches
• Quadratus femoris L4-5, S1
Sciatic L4-S3
Common fibular L4-S2 Lateral sural cutaneous Communicating fibular