What subject is theory of knowledge?

Theory of knowledge (TOK) is assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600 word essay. It asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know. TOK is part of the International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) core, and is mandatory for all students.

What are the 12 TOK concepts?

Those 12 concepts are Evidence, Certainty, Truth, Interpretation, Power, Justification, Explanation, Objectivity, Perspective, Culture, Values and Responsibility.

What are the 3 types of knowledge in TOK?

TOK distinguishes between eight areas of knowledge. They are mathematics, the natural sciences, the human sciences, the arts, history, ethics, religious knowledge systems, and indigenous knowledge systems.

What is scope in theory of knowledge?

Scope: This element focuses on exploring the nature and scope of the different themes and areas of knowledge. It explores how each theme/area of knowledge fits within the totality of human knowledge, and also considers the nature of the problems that each theme/area of knowledge faces and tries to address.

Is IB theory of knowledge hard?

The TOK course is assessed through a 1,600 word essay and a viva voce, and students often say it is one of the hardest parts of the IB Diploma course.

What are the 4 components of the Tok knowledge framework?

One of these changes was the introduction of a new compulsory Knowledge Framework and its four elements: Scope, Perspective, Methods and Tools, and Ethics. The example knowledge questions suggested for each theme and area of knowledge in the 2020 TOK Subject Guide are organised into this framework.

What are the 5 areas of knowledge?

To ensure both breadth and depth of knowledge and understanding, students must choose at least one subject from five groups: 1) their best language, 2) additional lan- guage(s), 3) social sciences, 4) experimental sciences, and 5) mathematics.

How many points do you need to get an A in TOK?

The following formula should better explain how to find your TOK grade. The grade boundaries out of 30 that determine your letter grade can vary each year so checking in with your school for the most recent ones is the best course of action, but an example set would be like this: A – 22 to 30.

Which 4 elements are used in the Tok knowledge framework?

Is IB harder than university?

University is a lot harder than the IB in my opinion. But with the IB, the ‘jump’ to university-style work is considerably easier than it is for A-level students, as you’ll have worked much harder in school compared to your A-level peers.

What are the areas of knowledge in TOK 2022?

You will also look at a 5 compulsory areas of knowledge: History, Human Sciences, Mathematics, Natural Sciences and The Arts. You will make links between various areas of knowledge whilst evaluating the boundaries that confine them.

What is the core theme of TOK?

The core theme focuses on knowledge and the knower. ​The optional themes are: knowledge and technology, knowledge and language, knowledge and indigenous societies, knowledge and religion or knowledge and politics.

Is IB Theory of Knowledge hard?

How is theory of knowledge assessed?

Theory of knowledge (TOK) is assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600 word essay. It asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know.

What do we post on theory of knowledge?

We post regular updates about what’s going on at theoryofknowledge.net, links to news stories that relate to different aspects of TOK, or just cool things that we’ve spotted going on in the world. Find out more about who we are, when we set up theoryofknowledge.net, and how the site and its resources work, here.

Is there a website for theory of knowledge?

Welcome to the world’s most popular site for the theory of knowledge course. We are passionately dedicated to making TOK a life-changing and empowering experience for learners and educators alike. Fully classroom-ready lessons that cover the entire TOK 2022 syllabus.

How many areas of knowledge are there in Tok?

There are now 5 areas of knowledge instead of 8 (see below), but they are compulsory so we must teach all five. There are “themes” – one Core theme (“Knowledge and the knower”) and five optional themes out of which teachers should choose two (see below). There is a new internal assessment task – TOK exhibition.