How many types of species of sharks are there?

With fossil records dating back 400 million years, sharks have outlived the dinosaurs and many other forms of life currently on earth. There are more than 1,000 species of sharks and rays, with new species discovered every year.

What are the 7 classifications of a shark?

The taxonomic hierarchy for the species Angelshark (pictured above) would be:

  • Kingdom: Animalia.
  • Phylum: Chordata.
  • Class: Chrondrichthyes.
  • Order: Squatiniformes.
  • Family: Squatinidae.
  • Genus: Squatina.
  • Species: Squatina squatina (Angelshark)

How many species of sharks are harmless?

Of all 375 shark species, only about 12 are considered potentially dangerous to humans.

What are the 8 shark orders?

There are hundreds of species of sharks, and they all fit into eight distinct orders: Carcharhiniformes, Heterodontiformes, Hexanchiformes, Lamniformes, Orectolobiformes, Pristiophoriformes, Squaliformes, and Squatiniformes.

What is a sharks classification?

Cartilaginous fishesSharks / Class

What is the safest shark?

The 10 Least Dangerous Sharks

  • Whale Sharks. Though Whale Sharks are the largest shark in the ocean, Whale Sharks present no threat to humans.
  • Nurse Sharks. Nurse Sharks are the couch potatoes of the ocean.
  • Basking Sharks.
  • Leopard Sharks.
  • Angel Sharks.
  • Bamboo Sharks.
  • Goblin Shark.
  • Greenland Shark.

What is the most mysterious shark?

It’s called the bluntnose sixgill shark (Hexanchus griseus), and, like many deep-sea creatures, its lifestyle remains something of a mystery. Scientists have managed to bring them up to the surface to tag them for tracking in the past.

What shark starts with P?

The Portuguese shark is found in the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Pacific Ocean.

What is the genus and species of shark?

Data Quality Indicators:

Family Lamnidae Müller and Henle, 1838 – mackerel sharks, porbeagles, white sharks, requins-taupes, jaquetones
Genus Carcharodon Smith in Müller and Henle, 1838
Species Carcharodon carcharias (Linnaeus, 1758) – great white shark, white shark, tiburón blanco, jaquetón de ley, requin blanc

What is the classification of shark?

Every shark belongs to the classification Chondrichthyes which identifies them as cartilaginous fish, fish whose internal skeletons are comprised of flexible cartilage rather than bone. Chondrichthyes consists of two groups, Holocephali and Elasmobranchii, and within Elasmobranchii are eight (8) orders of sharks.

How many species of sharks are there in the ocean?

There are almost 500 known species of sharks in our oceans. In this vast diversity of sharks, there is a huge variety of characteristics and behaviors among the different species. With all of these different species, it is hard to get enough information about sharks.

How many sharks are endangered?

Unfortunately, approximately 30% of shark species are either vulnerable, endangered, or critically endangered, according to the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). Overfishing is the largest threat to sharks, with an estimated 100 million sharks killed each year by commercial and recreational fishers.

What is the smallest type of shark?

The smallest known shark is a type of lantern shark, the dwarf lantern shark that grows to only 8 inches in length. They tend to hunt along the seafloor and eat small fish, squids, and fish eggs. Wobbegong sharks are also known as carpet sharks because their unusual coloring resembles ornate patterned carpets.