What are the 10 territories in Australia?

Primary content

  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands.
  • Australian Antarctic Territory.
  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988.
  • Christmas Island.
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
  • Coral Sea Islands.
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands.
  • Jervis Bay Territory.

What are the 5 territories of Australia?

Australia contains six states—New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, and Tasmania—and two internal territories—the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory, which contains Canberra.

How many territories does Australia have in 2021?

The country is divided into six states and two territories.

What are the external territories of Australia?

The Australian External Territories consist of the Australian Antarctic Territory, comprising all claimed islands and territories other than Adélie Land situated south of latitude 60° S between longitude 45° and 160° E (however, all Antarctic claims are in abeyance as per the Antarctic Treaty…

What is the legal framework in the Australian Antarctic Territory?

the Australian Antarctic Territory the Territory of the Heard and McDonald Islands Norfolk Island. The legal framework applying in these territories is a mixture of Commonwealth law, State law and local Territory law.

How are the States and territories governed in Australia?

The states and territories are federated administrative divisions in Australia, ruled by regional governments that constitute the second level of governance between the federal government and local governments.

What is the difference between Act and Northern Territory?

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and Northern Territory for the most part operate indistinguishably from the states, even though they do not have constitutional status as states. The Jervis Bay Territory is considered an exclave of the ACT for almost all purposes.