Who won the Archibald Prize 2008?

Del Kathryn Barton: You are what is most beautiful about me, a self-portrait with Kell and Arella :: Archibald Prize 2008 | Art Gallery of NSW.

Who won the Archibald Prize?

Blak Douglas
Blak Douglas wins Archibald Prize 2022 for portrait of artist Karla Dickens in the Lismore floods | Art Gallery of NSW.

Why did Judy cassab win the Archibald Prize?

In 1961 Cassab became the second Australian woman (the first was in 1938) to win the Archibald Prize, for her portrait of fellow painter Stanislaus Rapotec, a portrait more modernistic in style than previous winners. She won the Archibald again in 1967 with her portrait of artist Margo Lewers.

Who was the very first winner of the Archibald Prize who was the sitter of the portrait?

The first prize in 1921 was awarded to the artist William Beckwith (Billy) McInnes (who went on to win no less than seven times) for a portrait of the Melbourne architect Harold Desbrowe Annear.

Who won the Archibald Prize in 2010?

Archibald Prize 2010 Sam Leach was awarded both the Archibald and the Wynne Prizes. It was only the second time an artist had won both prizes: the first being William Dobell in 1948. Brett Whiteley won all three prizes – Archibald, Wynne and Sulman – in 1978.

How many times has Del Kathryn Barton won the Archibald Prize?

Del Kathryn Barton has won the Archibald Prize twice – in 2008 with a self-portrait with her two children, and in 2013 with a portrait of Hugo Weaving. This is her fifth time as a finalist. Here, her ‘studio wife’ is her three-year-old French bulldog Cherry-Bomb.

Who won the Archibald 2022?

artist Blak Douglas
Yesterday, Dhungatti artist Blak Douglas was awarded the 2022 Archibald prize and $100,000 for his work Moby Dickens — the largest painting in this year’s exhibition at the Art Gallery of New South Wales (AGNSW).

Who has won the Archibald Prize more than once?

By the Art Gallery of NSW In 2018, Yvette Coppersmith became the 10th woman to win the Archibald Prize since it was established in 1921. Nora Heysen was the first woman to win, at age 27 in 1938; she remains the youngest winner. Judy Cassab and Del Kathryn Baron have each won it twice.

How did Judy Cassab become famous?

In 1953 she held the first of what would be more than 70 career solo exhibitions, but it was in 1960 that she came to public prominence when she became only the second woman to win the Archibald Prize, for her portrait of fellow artist Stanislaus Rapotec.

Who is the youngest winner of the Archibald Prize?

Nora Heysen
1938 First woman to win the Archibald Prize – Nora Heysen – who at 28, remains the youngest winner as well, for a portrait of Madame Elink Schuurman, the wife of a Dutch diplomat.

When was the first Archibald Prize awarded?

Archibald Prize 1921 The inaugural Archibald Prize was awarded to WB McInnes, who donated the winning portrait to the Gallery.

Who won the 2021 Archibald art prize?

artist Peter Wegner
Archibald Prize 2021: Winner This painting by artist Peter Wegner, Portrait of Guy Warren at 100, has won the 2021 Archibald Prize. A six-time Archibald Prize finalist, Wegner was emotional when he was told the news. “This is an unbelievable moment in my life.

Who won the Archibald Prize in 2013?

Del Kathryn Barton
Del Kathryn Barton: hugo :: Archibald Prize 2013 | Art Gallery of NSW.

Who inspired Del Kathryn Barton?

Louise BourgeoisKiki SmithHenry DargerJohn Currin
Del Kathryn Barton/Influenced by

Where is the 2022 Archibald Prize?

the Art Gallery of NSW
The finalists in all three prizes will be exhibited at the Art Gallery of NSW from 14 May to 28 August 2022. This article was amended on 14 May 2022 to correct the number of previous Arichibald and Wynne prize nominations Blak Douglas has had.

Which painting was the Archibald winner 2011?

portrait of Margaret Olley
PM – Ben Quilty wins Archibald Prize for portrait of Margaret Olley 15/04/2011.

Who is Judy Cassab’s husband?

Judy Cassab

Judit Kaszab better known as Judy Cassab AO CBE
Born Judit Kaszab15 August 1920 Vienna, Austria
Died 3 November 2015 (aged 95) Randwick, New South Wales, Australia
Occupation Artist, writer
Spouse(s) Jeff Tomson

How much is the Archibald Prize worth?

The Archibald Prize has been awarded annually since 1921 (with two exceptions) and since July 2015 the prize has been AU$ 100,000. Since 1988 two other prizes have been added to the Archibald prize event.

Who won the Archibald Prize in 1928?

John Longstaff’s Dr Alexander Leeper won the 1928 Archibald Prize William Dargie Lt-General The Hon Edmund Herring , KBC, DSO, MC, ED won the 1945 Archibald Prize Year – Artist – Title

Who won the 2003 archbibald Award?

2003 – Archbibald winner, Artist Geoffrey Dyer with his winning portarit of Richard Flanagan announced at the Art Gallery of NSW.

Is the Packing Room Prize winner Always an Archibald finalist?

The prize-winner is not always an Archibald finalist. Head packer Brett Cuthbertson receives 52% of the vote between packers for the prize. The Packing Room Prize is awarded annually and since June 2014, the prize has been A$1,500. To date there has never been an Archibald Prize winner who has also been a Packing Room Prize winner.