Who are the members of UPSC?

The Commission

Name & Date of Birth Date of retirement
Chairman Dr. Manoj Soni 17/02/1965 27/06/2023
Member Ms. Smita Nagaraj 22/09/1958 21/09/2023
Member Ms. M. Sathiyavathy 13/05/1958 12/05/2023
Member Sh. Bharat Bhushan Vyas 15/11/1957 14/11/2022

How many members are there in UPSC now?

ten members
The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) consists of a chairman and ten members. The terms and conditions of service of the chairman and members of the Commission are governed by the Union Public Service Commission (Members) Regulations, 1969.

Who is the first chairman of UPSC?

(vide Chapter 2)

S. No. Name Date when took over charge
1. Sir Ross Barker October, 1926
2. Sir David Petrie August, 1932
3. Sir Eyre Gorden 1937
4. Sir F.W. Robertson 1942

Who is the first woman president of UPSC?

Rose Millian Bathew Kharbuli
Rose Millian Bathew Kharbuli was the first Indian women chairman of the UPSC. Her tenure lasted from 23 September 1992 to 23 August 1996….Related Links.

Vote On Account Means Aitchison Commission

How UPSC members are appointed?

Appointment. As per Art. 316, the Chairman and other members of Union Public Service Commission shall be appointed by the President. In case the office of the Chairman becomes vacant his duties shall be performed by one of the other members of the Commission as the President may appoint for the purpose.

Who is UPSC head?

Manoj SoniUnion Public Service Commission / Chairperson

Who is President of UPSC?

Who determines UPSC salary?

It has been decided by the Government to give parity in pay, perquisites and allowances with the Chief Election Commissioner/Election Commissioner to the Chairman and Members of the Union Public Service Commission with effect from 01st May, 2007. 2.

Who started UPSC in India?

Sir Ross Barker
The Lee Commission proposed that 40% of future entrants should be British, 40% Indians directly recruited, and 20% Indians promoted from the provincial services. This led to the establishment of the first Public Service Commission on 1 October 1926 under the chairmanship of Sir Ross Barker.

Who appoints the members of UPSC?

The President of India
The President of India appoints the UPSC Chairman and other members. Each member holds office for a tenure of 6 years or till he becomes the age of 65 years.