Why is it called Johari?

It’s easy to remember the model’s name since the term “Johari” is a combination of their two first names. The Johari Window model diagram literally looks like a window with four quadrants. The terms used in the diagram go along with the “pane” of window which they represent.

What are some examples of Johari Window?

The Johari Window model: with personal examples and exercises

  • The Open Area (known by yourself, and know by others too)
  • The Blind Spot (unknow by yourself, but known by others)
  • The Hidden Area (known by yourself, but unknown by others)
  • The Unknown (unknown by yourself, and unknown by others too)

How do I know myself using Johari Window?

From a practical point of view in implementing the Johari window you need to look at two steps.

  1. The place to start in the Johari window is in the open area. Make some notes about yourself.
  2. Involve other people and ask for feedback about yourself. Be prepared to seriously consider it.

What are the four parts of the Johari Window?

The four quadrants or “panes” of the Johari Window are:

  • Open Self (or open area/free area/public area)
  • Blind Self (or blind area/blind spot)
  • Hidden Self (or hidden area/avoided self/façade)
  • Unknown Self (or unknown area/area of unknown activity)

Why Johari Window is important?

The Johari Window is a model used to help people better understand their relationships both with themselves, and with others. As such, it’s a useful technique for improving an individual’s self-awareness and development in group situations. It also aids two-way communication with the group.

How do you do the Johari Window exercise?

The exercise works like this:

  1. A participant selects a set number of adjectives from a list they feel best describe themselves.
  2. The participant then selects, from the same set of adjectives, the characteristics that best describe another person (a manager or report in this case)

How would you describe yourself in Johari Window?


  1. Select 5 adjectives that describe who you are.
  2. Ask a diverse set of people to select 5 adjectives that describe who you are.
  3. Categorise the results into the four Johari Window Quadrants.
  4. Discuss the results with the group to elicit deeper insights.

What are the four areas of Johari Window?

The Johari Window is a model that helps to explain and improve self-awareness and self-communication. The window is divided into four quadrants: open, blind, hidden, and unknown.

How do I see myself with the Johari Window?

How do you conduct a Johari Window?

How do I practice Johari Window?

Did Johari have her baby yet?

Keepers at Johari’s home in the Animal Adventure Park in Harpursville, New York have confirmed the giraffe could have her calf any day now. Writing on YouTube the park said: “We all wait on bated…

How do you reduce blind spots in Johari Window?

– You should consider doing more of… – You should consider doing less of… – Sometimes you do x… which has y… as a consequence. Perhaps you could consider doing more of z… – Under x circumstances you tend to do y. I’d suggest you do more of z/ or less of b”

What is the hidden area of the Johari Window?

What is the hidden area of the Johari Window? There are also aspects about yourself that you are aware of but might not want others to know, this quadrant is known as your hidden area. This leaves just one area and is the area that is unknown to you or anyone else – the unknown area. The balance between the four quadrants can change.

How to use the Johari Window?

– The Open Area: ideal for personal development discussions – The Blind Spot: creates an opportunity to seek feedback – The Hidden Area: gives you the opportunity to share, thoughtfully – The Unknown: offers you the opportunity to unlock your potential with fresh challenges