What is the official language of Luxembourg?

Luxembourg/Official languages

Why is Luxembourg 3 languages?

Due to this history, Luxembourg’s official languages were initially Standard German and French. It was only in 1984 that Luxembourgish became the national language. As a result, Luxembourg now has three official languages: Luxembourgish, German and French.

Does Luxembourg have its own language?

Luxembourgish language, also called Lëtzebuergesch, Letzeburgisch, Luxembourgian, Luxemburgian, or Luxembourgeois, national language of Luxembourg. Luxembourgish is a Moselle-Franconian dialect of the West Middle German group.

How do you say hello in Luxemburg?

Moien/ Salut: Hello.

Can you survive in Luxembourg with English?

Luxembourg is predominantly multilingual. People who went to school here will generally speak Luxembourgish, French and German, and often English as well.

What does Luxembourg language sound like?

Today, Luxembourgish is the mother tongue of most Luxembourgers. It sounds close to Dutch, being a mixture of German and French with regional and even locally varying dialects.

Is Luxembourgish a German language?

From a linguistic perspective, Luxembourgish is a Moselle Franconian dialect and forms a dialect continuum with those other dialects in the German Saarland and Trier area. Therefore, it belongs to the Central German linguistic area.

Are there any compound words in Luxembourgish?

Interestingly, there are compound words in Luxembourgish which are made up of one French word and one German word.

What is taught in Luxembourgish schools?

When Luxembourgish children are first taught to read and write, it is in German. The language of instruction in primary school is German. Moreover, Luxembourgish is taught only one hour per week at secondary school and only in the first years.

Is Luxembourg a part of the Francophonie?

Luxembourg does however participate in the Francophonie and has members in the Académie française, despite French also only being an official language.