What are the tiers of emissions?

Tier 0, Tier 1, and Clean Fuel Vehicle (CFV) exhaust emission standards (light-duty trucks only) Tier 0, Tier 1, and National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) implementation schedule. Tier 0, Tier 1, NLEV, and CFV exhaust emission standards. Tier 1 and NLEV Supplemental Federal Test Procedure (SFTP) exhaust emission …

What does engine tier mean?

Currently, Tier 4 diesel engine standards are the strictest EPA emissions requirement for off-highway diesel engines. This requirement regulates the amount of particulate matter (PM), or black soot, and nitrogen oxides (NOx) that can be emitted from an off-highway diesel engine.

When did Tier 2 engines start?

Each tier involved a phase-in (by horsepower rating) over several years. Tier 1 standards were phased-in from 1996 to 2000. The more stringent Tier 2 standards took effect from 2001 to 2006, and yet more stringent Tier 3 standards phased-in from 2006 to 2008 (Tier 3 standards applied only for engines from 37-560 kW).

What are Tier 2 engines?

Tier 2 emissions standards established by Congress apply to commercial compression-ignition (diesel) engines with a power rating of at least 37 kW.

What are the Tier 2 emission standards?

The Tier 2 emission standards are structured into 8 permanent and 3 temporary certification levels of different stringency, called “certification bins”, and an average fleet standard for NO x emissions. Vehicle manufacturers have a choice to certify particular vehicles to any of the available bins.

What is the difference between Tier 2 and non Tier 2 vehicles?

Tier 2 vehicles are those meeting the requirements of one of the available bins and that are used to meet the requirement that a percentage of the fleet have average NO x emissions of 0.07 g/mile. During the phase-in period, the rest of the fleet not used to comply with the 0.07 g/mile NO x average are referred to as interim non-Tier 2 vehicles.

Do the same emission limits apply to all vehicles?

The same emission limits apply to all vehicles regardless of the fuel they use. That is, vehicles fueled by gasoline, diesel, or alternative fuels all must meet the same standards.