Who has won the most home run derbies?

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most? Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999). Alonso is the third to win consecutive titles and is one away from tying Griffey.

Who won the Home Run Derby 2 years ago?


Year Winner Team
2014 Yoenis Céspedes (2) Oakland Athletics
2015 Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Miami Marlins
2017 Aaron Judge New York Yankees

Who Run who won the Home Run Derby?

slugger Pete Alonso
Mets slugger Pete Alonso retained his Home Run Derby crown, defeating Trey Mancini in the final round on Monday night at Coors Field in Denver. Alonso came out of the gate with a record 35 home runs in the first round and made it look easy, defeating Juan Soto in the semifinals.

Has anyone won Home Run Derby twice in a row?

For over a decade, Griffey remained the only player with multiple Home Run Derby victories. Then came Prince Fielder, who won the derby in 2009 with the Milwaukee Brewers and in 2012 as a member of the Detroit Tigers.

Has a rookie ever won the Home Run Derby?

Robert Aitken Jr. Two years ago in Cleveland, Pete Alonso stole the show at the All-Star Break and made a name for himself as the Home Run Derby champion as a rookie. After a year without a contest during the pandemic, Alonsodefended his crown and continue to grow his legend on Monday in Denver.

Who won the last 10 Home Run Derby?

Home Run Derby Winners

Year Winner Runner Up
2015 Todd Frazier (Reds) Joc Pederson (Dodgers)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins) Todd Frazier (White Sox)
2017 Aaron Judge (Yankees) Miguel Sano (Twins)
2018 Bryce Harper (Nationals) Kyle Schwarber (Cubs)

Did Frank Thomas win a Home Run Derby?

Prior to the 1985 All-Star Game being played, a new tradition was born when Major League Baseball adopted an official format for a Home Run Derby….1995 Home Run Derby.

1995 Home Run Derby The Ballpark in Arlington / Arlington, Texas Place 1st
Name(s) Frank Thomas
Team Chicago
Round1 8
Round2 4

Has anyone won 3 Home Run Derby?

Sandberg, Frazier win Derby Sierra and Davis split the prize in 1989 with three home runs each for their respective leagues, with a trio of sluggers tying for second.

Has anyone won 3 homerun derbys in a row?

Did prince fielder win a Home Run Derby?

He became the first Brewer to win the Home Run Derby, defeating Nelson Cruz in the final round of the 2009 derby. Fielder also won the 2012 derby, joining Ken Griffey, Jr.

Who won the Home Run Derby last night?

Winner: Justin Morneau, Twins. Runner-up: Josh Hamilton, Rangers. While Morneau took home the night’s top prize, Hamilton stole the show by belting a first-round record 28 home runs, including a run of 13 on consecutive swings. Only one player had ever hit that many in a full Derby before (Bobby Abreu, 41 in 2005).

Who will win the Homerun Derby?

We’re entering a pretty light week for bettors. The NBA season is winding down, hockey season is over and Euro 2020 and Wimbledon are in the books. It’s also the MLB All-Star break. That means there won’t be the usual slate of baseball games to bet

Who won the home run derbey this year?

Winner: Pete Alonso, Mets. Runner-up: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays. Alonso edged out Guerrero in a thrilling final-round battle of rookie phenoms. Alonso not only won the Derby, but went on to hit a Major League-best 53 home runs in 2019.

How do they pick the home run derby contestants?

Or is it the players with the most home runs before the all star break. For the last few years, they’ve picked a “captain” of the HRD, one for each league, and they create the lineup for their league. The “captain” will usually ask the HR leaders at the time. Then after they all say no, he goes and finds other people. Reddit Inc © 2021.