Which country is Osijek from?


Country Croatia
County Osijek-Baranja
• Mayor Ivan Radić (HDZ)

What is Osijek known for?

Top Attractions in Osijek

  • Red Fico. Points of Interest & Landmarks.
  • SS Peter and Paul. Architectural Buildings • Religious Sites.
  • Church of the Raising of the Holy Cross. Architectural Buildings • Missions.
  • Osijek Zoo. Zoos.
  • Portanova. Shopping Malls.
  • Pivnica Runda. Breweries.
  • Pedestrian Bridge. Bridges.
  • Trg Svetog Trojstva.

What is Osijek most famous part?

The best-known are the eight houses built in the row in European Avenue at the beginning of the 20th century. The 19th-century neogothic co-cathedral of st. Peter and Paul in Osijek is 90 m tall and it is the second tallest church in Croatia and south-east Europe, right after Zagreb.

What is the main source of income in Croatia?

Tourism is a notable source of income during the summer and a major industry in Croatia. It dominates the Croatian service sector and accounts for up to 20% of Croatian GDP. Annual tourist industry income for 2011 was estimated at €6.61 billion.

What is the most famous part of Osijek?

Where is Slavonija?


Slavonia Slavonija
Slavonia Croatian Baranya
Country Croatia
Largest city Osijek

Which part of Osijek should all tourists visit?

Trg Ante Starčevića Towering over the public fountain, a main meeting place, the neo-Gothic Church of St Peter and St Paul, is visible all around the city and a point of reference for first-time visitors as they explore Osijek.

What was Croatia called in 1890?

Kingdom of Croatia-Slavonia

Kingdom of Croatia and Slavonia Kraljevina Hrvatska i Slavonija (Croatian) Краљевина Хрватска и Славонија (Serbian) Horvát–Szlavón Királyság (Hungarian) Königreich Kroatien und Slawonien (German)
Official languages Croatian
Religion Roman Catholic
Government Constitutional parliamentary monarchy

What was Croatia’s old name?

Historical Backgound It was known as the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes. In 1929, the name of this new nation was changed to Yugoslavia. After World War II, the former prewar kingdom was replaced by a federation of six equal republics.