How many LGAs are in Victoria?

79 local government areas
Local government in the Australian state of Victoria consists of 79 local government areas (LGAs). Also referred to as municipalities, Victorian LGAs are classified as cities (34), shires (38), rural cities (6) and boroughs (1).

Where is unincorporated Vic?

They are referred to as unincorporated areas and include French Island in Western Port, a number of other off-shore islands, and the snow resorts of Falls Creek, Lake Mountain, Mount Baw Baw, Mount Buller, Mount Hotham and Mount Stirling.

What is the largest council in Victoria?

The largest metropolitan council in terms of land size is the Yarra Ranges Shire, while the City of Casey is home to the most people.

How many LGAs are in Melbourne?

Also referred to as municipalities, the 79 Victorian LGAs are classified as cities (34), shires (38), rural cities (6) and boroughs (1)….Greater Melbourne.

Council seat Wantirna South
Land area (km2) 114
Population (2018) 163,203
Pop. density 3,552
Councillors (2012) 9

What is the difference between a shire and a city?

Local governments are either shires, towns or cities. Shires are generally small-medium in population and are often rural. Towns are of medium population and are essentially urban. Cities have larger populations and are essentially urban.

What does unincorporated Victoria mean?

Victoria. Victoria has 10 small unincorporated areas, which are either small islands directly administered by the state or ski resorts administered by state-appointed management boards.

What does LGA stand for?

local government area
LGA stands for a local government area.

What is the best council in Victoria?

At the top of the list was Monash City, with a score of 75, and Boroondara City, with a score of 74.

What LGA is Shepparton in?

The City is named after the main urban settlement located in the centre of the LGA, that is Shepparton, which together with adjoining Mooroopna form the LGA’s most populous urban area with a population of 51,903….Main towns in shire.

Locality Total
Shepparton 31,197
Shepparton East 1,138
Shepparton North 1,033

What is the biggest council in Australia?

Brisbane City Council
Australia’s largest council by population is Brisbane City Council, servicing a population of 1.25 million. Australia’s largest council by area is East Pilbara in Western Australia. It covers an area of 379,571 square km (larger than Victoria), has a population of 11,005 and 3,237km of roads.

What is the difference between incorporated and unincorporated towns?

Incorporated communities are officially labeled and demarcated via a municipality—such as a city or a town. Unincorporated communities are not officially considered to be municipal areas of their own accord. They often act as a part of a larger municipality, such as a county or city.

Which suburbs are LGA?


  • Liverpool LGAAshcroft – Mount PritchardAustralWestern area – Greendale and SurroundsBusby.
  • CartwrightCasulaCecil HillsChipping NortonEdmondson Park.
  • Elizabeth HillsGreen ValleyHammondvilleHeckenbergHinchinbrook.
  • HolsworthyHorningsea ParkHoxton Park – Carnes HillLeppington – Denham CourtLiverpool.

Is Yarra Valley regional or metro?

Council is again urging the State Government to reclassify non-urban areas of Yarra Ranges as regional, with the entire municipality caught up in the latest metropolitan Melbourne lockdown.

Which is the best council in Melbourne?

Yarra city council has been crowned Melbourne’s healthiest local government area, in a wide-ranging new study of the city’s suburbs.