What is a Medal of Merit police?

Medal of Merit Awarded by the Chief of Police to officers who, in the line of duty, heroically reflect only the highest traditions of law enforcement service and the profession they represent. This award is evidenced by: Gold Medal. Yellow and white breast bar. Framed certificate.

Is Vishisht Seva Medal a gallantry award?

The Vishisht Seva Medal (VSM) is a decoration of the Indian armed forces. It is awarded to recognize “distinguished service of a high order” to all ranks of the Indian Armed forces….

Vishisht Seva Medal
Country India
Presented by President of India
Established January 26, 1960

What ribbons do police get?

Medal of Valor; Preservation of Life Medal; Police Distinguished Service Medal; Police Commission Unit Citation; Police Medal; Purple Heart; Police Meritorious Service Medal; Police Meritorious Achievement Medal; Police Meritorious Unit Citation; Police Star; Lifesaving Medal; Police Commission Distinguished Service …

Is there a Purple Heart for police?

Law Enforcement Awards Law Enforcement Purple Heart The Police Purple Heart is issued to officers who are injured or disabled in the line of duty. Purple Heart recipients are eligible if they were required to seek professional medical attention and were out of work at least one week.

What is a gallantry award?

Gallantry Awards have been instituted by the Government of India to honour the acts of bravery and sacrifice of the officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully constituted Forces and civilians.

Can police officers get a Purple Heart?

Do police officers get medals?

Police officers and special constables will receive a medal ribbon with their long service medal, to be worn on their uniform.

What is given in gallantry award?

The Vir Chakra series of awards are given for acts of conspicuous bravery/gallantry in the presence of the enemy and the Ashok Chakra series for bravery other than in the face of the enemy. These awards carry a monetary allowance with them which is payable for two lives. Rs. 10,000/- p.m.

Who can get gallantry award?

Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces. Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.

What are the types of gallantry award?

Gallantry awards

  • Param Vir Chakra.
  • Mahavir Chakra.
  • Vir Chakra.
  • Ashoka Chakra.
  • Kirti Chakra.
  • Shaurya Chakra.

What is the gallantry medal for police?

The NSW Police Medal The New South Wales Police Medal is awarded to sworn members and former sworn members of the New South Wales Police Force who have completed ten years of diligent and ethical service. The Medal is awarded after a detailed review of the nominee’s service history.

What is the meaning of the President’s Police Medal for gallantry?

The President’s Police Medal for Gallantry is awarded for, “gallantry in saving life and property, or in preventing crime or arresting criminals.”. The medal may be awarded to any member of a police service in India, and is awarded without regard to rank or time in service.

What is the Medal of gallantry?

It is ranked third in the Gallantry Decorations in the Australian Honours System. Recipients of the Medal of Gallantry are entitled to use the post-nominal letters “MG”. The Medal for Gallantry is circular and is made of gold-plated silver. It is ensigned with the Crown of Saint Edward.

Where can I find service medals and gallantry medals from ITBP?

Collection of Service Medals and Gallantry medals from ITBP, 22nd Bn, Tigri Camp, New Delhi-regarding. Award of President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service on the occasion of Republic Day 2019.

When did the George Cross replace the Empire Gallantry Medal?

George Cross – from 1940 for meritorious service, replacing the Empire Gallantry Medal and later the Edward Medal and Albert Medal – primarily for civilians but also for the military in certain circumstances George Medal – from 1940 for meritorious service – primarily for civilians but also for the military in certain circumstances