Who was Taoiseach in 1932?

This office was first held by W. T. Cosgrave of Cumann na nGaedheal from 1922 to 1932, and then by Éamon de Valera of Fianna Fáil from 1932 to 1937. By convention, Taoisigh are numbered to include Cosgrave; therefore, Micheál Martin is considered the 15th Taoiseach, not the 14th.

Who was the Taoiseach in 1991?

List of Taoisigh

No. Name (Birth–Death) Constituency Term of office
8. Albert Reynolds (born 1932) TD for Longford–Roscommon 11 February 1992
9. John Bruton (born 1947) TD for Meath 15 December 1994
10. Bertie Ahern (born 1951) TD for Dublin Central 26 June 1997
11. Brian Cowen (born 1960) TD for Laois–Offaly 7 May 2008

Who was Taoiseach after Jack Lynch?

Jack Lynch
Taoiseach Liam Cosgrave
Preceded by Liam Cosgrave
Succeeded by Garret FitzGerald
Leader of Fianna Fáil

Who was Taoiseach before Bertie?

Under Ahern’s leadership, Fianna Fáil led three coalition governments. Ahern is the second-longest serving Taoiseach, after Éamon de Valera. Ahern resigned as Taoiseach on 6 May 2008, in the wake of revelations made in Mahon Tribunal, and was succeeded by Minister for Finance Brian Cowen.

Who was Taoiseach in 1922?

This office was first held by W. T. Cosgrave from 1922 to 1932, and then by Éamon de Valera from 1932 to 1937. By convention Taoisigh are numbered to include Cosgrave, for example Micheál Martin is considered the 15th Taoiseach.

What happened to Valera?

De Valera was court-martialled, convicted, and sentenced to death, but the sentence was immediately commuted to penal servitude for life. De Valera was among the few republican leaders the British did not execute. It has been argued that his life was saved by four facts.

Who was the Taoiseach in May 2011?

Following the resignation of Bertie Ahern, Brian Cowen became the 12th Taoiseach on 7 May, 2008, and served until 9 March, 2011.

When did Eamon de Valera become Taoiseach?

He served as Taoiseach on three different occasions: from 1937 to 1948, from 1951 to 1954, and finally from 1957 to 1959. He remains the longest serving Taoiseach by total days served in the post. He resigned in 1959 upon his election as president of Ireland.

Who was President of Ireland in 1921?

List of office-holders

No. Name (Birth–Death) Government
1 Cathal Brugha (1874–1922) 1st Ministry
2 Éamon de Valera (1882–1975) 2nd Ministry (1919–1921) 3rd Ministry (1921–1922)
3 Arthur Griffith (1872–1922) 4th Ministry

Who was in Government 2013 Ireland?

Government of the 31st Dáil
Taoiseach Enda Kenny
Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore (2011–14) Joan Burton (2014–16)
No. of ministers 15
Member parties Fine Gael Labour Party

Who was the Taoiseach of Ireland from 1997 to 2008?

Bertie Ahern
On 19 November, 1994, he was elected as leader of the Fianna Fáil party. Having successfully contested the general election in 1997, Bertie Ahern became the 11th Taoiseach and resigned on 6 May, 2008.

Who was the president of Ireland in 1922?

George V (1922–1936) (The Irish Free State became a self-governing Dominion of the British Empire and subsequently, in 1931, a legislatively independent country.) Arguably George VI (1936–1949), for external purposes only, whose status was diminished (see Irish head of state from 1922 to 1949).

Who was Ireland’s last prime minister?

Leo Varadkar

Leo Varadkar TD
Constituency Dublin West
Personal details
Born 18 January 1979 Dublin, Ireland
Political party Fine Gael

Who was the first Irish President?

Douglas Hyde
Hyde circa 1917
1st President of Ireland
In office 25 June 1938 – 24 June 1945
Taoiseach Éamon de Valera

Who is the current Prime Minister of Ireland?

Micheál Martin, Prime Minister of Ireland (since Jun 27, 2020) Micheál Martin (born 1 August 1960) is an Irish Fianna Fáil politician who has served as Taoiseach since June 2020 and as Leader of Fianna Fáil since January 2011.

What does Taoiseach mean in Irish?

The words Taoiseach and Tánaiste (deputy prime minister) are both from the Irish language and of ancient origin. Though the Taoiseach is described in the Constitution of Ireland as “the head of the Government or Prime Minister”, its literal translation is chieftain or leader.

Who is the leader of Ireland?

President Michael D Higgins was treated to a display of a wealth of waterways-related artefacts from Waterways Ireland’s archive when he visited the North-South body’s headquarters in Enniskillen today. The President was accompanied on the visit by his

What is the origin of the Irish word ‘taoiseach’?

Taoiseach (ProperNoun) Head of the Irish government,comparable to a UK or Australian Prime Minister. Etymology: From the Taoiseach.

  • Taoiseach (ProperNoun) Title of the person holding that office. Etymology: From the Taoiseach.
  • taoiseach (Noun) Head of the Irish government,comparable to a UK or Australian Prime Minister. Etymology: From the Taoiseach.